Amazing early-20th-century Seibert microscope with eyepiece and lens set. Complete and in its original storing case.
360º photos. Click on the image to enlarge
Antique Seibert Wetzlar Monocular Microscope. Germany, 1927
Superb antique Seibert monocular microscope, made in Germany in 1927 and really complete. It comes with 3 eyepieces marked 1, 3 and 4, and 3 objectives marked 2, 5L and 1/12 oil immersion. The storing case contains a card with these data, the serial number and the date, all of them written by hand. The microscope boasts an exceptional condition and working order. The black-enameled body looks shiny and even, and the brass component parts preserve the protecting lacquer which provides it with a great warm patina. The adjusting screws and the rack-and-pinion system move fluidly. The revolving nosepiece mounts three lenses; over it, the turret bears the engraved Seibert logo and the serial number 25770, coincident to that of the card. The case is made of light-colored solid mahogany wood. Though the lock and the handle are missing, it is the original one and still fulfills its protecting and storing duty.
Complete, gorgeous and in working order, this antique Seibert monocular microscope is a real collector’s piece.
Dimensions: Width: 6.49 in / 10.5 cm. Height: 14.17 in / 36 cm. Depth: 6.49 in / 16.5 cm.
Seibert Microscopes - History
In the 1850s, Wihelm and Heinrich Seibert were working in the famous Carl Keller’s optical company in Wetlzar. Enrst Gundlach was working there too, and in 1859 he left the company to start his own workshop, taking the Seibert brothers with him. He had poor business skills and soon the business went bankrupt; Gundlach moved to England in 1860 and came back to Germany in 1865. He started another microscope company and again the Seiberts went with him, but in 1872 the business was again in financial trouble. The Seibert brothers, together with Georg Krafft, bought the company. Gundlach had to agree not to found another business in Germany so he moved to the USA. Meanwhile, the Seiberts and Krafft returned to Wetzlar; the company was known as Seiberts & Krafft till 1884, and as W. & H. Seibert until 1925. After the death of Otto Seibert, Leitz Wetzlar took over the business.